Fearlessly Navigating Freezing

We’ve handled stylin’ in boots that can hold up to the elements, but what about  the rest of our body. Spending two years barely 30 miles from the Canadian border taught me a trick or two and much to my father’s disbelief, I really did learn something in college beside pool hustling; I learned how to layer. My favorite trick, layer a pair of silks. For those of you not familiar with silk underwear, no, it’s not just a bra and panties. Silks take the place of long underwear, and are, as their name implies silky to the touch while affording a non bulky layer of warmth. No longer do you need to be bundled up like the abominable snowman to play outside. My favorite silks from Cuddl Duds are made of 93% Modal and 7% Spandex. So yes, literally these are not silk but they work just as well without being as delicate as silk which can snag. The best feature of the Cuddl Duds bottoms, they have a low rise crossover front so you aren’t struggling to pull these down under your leggings or jeans. Easy to wash and quick to dry, I bring 2 sets; one white and one black to layer under all my outfits. They roll up into nothing and are as lightweight as can be both on your body or in your bag.

For an outer layer, I snagged up the Uniqlo Ultra Light Down Collar Coat. I chose black for elegance and to keep my pallet simple for travel. But the cream color is out and out sophisticated and can add the same amount of style cache to any outfit. The Uniqlo Ultra Light line packs easily into it’s own travel pouch however I find that simply laying doubled over flat, packs perfectly and takes up barely a whisper in your suitcase. Remember, you can always use a scarf to add color and dimension. Here I
added a skinny beaded and metal trim scarf from Free People to add contrast when paired with black and which blends perfectly when layering with the Ultralight jacket mentioned below.

image

For colder temperatures or climes that vary greatly, I also travel with the Uniqlo Ultralight jacket which is great for layering under the coat or to wear on its own for milder days. There’s no question that Uniqlo has filled a market void offering lightweight travel material and prices that are just as reasonable on your pocketbook. Hit the staples and you’re sure to look pulled together while keeping toasty warm. In a plethora of colors, find a pallet to create your own signature look.

Heading to the UK, Scotland, Ireland or the Pacific Northwest? Then a raincoat is a definite must. When I saw Dawn Levy’s Kyndra Belted Trench Coat, I fell in love. For once, a trench that shows your curves, has a zip away hood and even comes in it’s own travel pouch! Here is one occasion I say spend the extra money and make the investment. A trench is unlikely to go out of style and is a staple you will have for years to come.

Lastly, when I want to add a little edge to my look I wear my black leather moto jacket with the Uniqlo Ultralight jacket and my silks underneath. Add that with a pair of La Canadienne boots, a scarf and a crossbody messenger style bag and I guarantee ‘tourist’ will not be what comes to mind in even the most critical of cities. 

Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

